Home   bullet   Recent Site Changes   bullet   ANES Announcement

ANES 2012 Time Series Study is now available
June 10, 2013

ANES 2012 Time Series Study Data Release

The American National Election Studies (ANES) is pleased to announce the preliminary release of the 2012 Time Series Study, the 29th study in a series of election studies conducted since 1948. For the first time in Time Series history, face-to-face interviewing was supplemented with data collection on the Internet. Data collection was conducted in the two modes independently, using separate samples.

Some of the highlights of the 2012 study include the following:

ANES staff will continue to conduct checks on the survey responses and on the completeness, consistency, and accuracy of the data. Errors that we discover or that are reported to us, at anes@electionstudies.org, will be investigated and either documented or corrected. Administrative, summary, and non-survey variables will be added to the file, including data on recruitment contacts at the sampled addresses.

Updates to current releases of the 2012 Time Series and the ANES 2010-2012 Evaluations of Government and Society Study will be made throughout the upcoming months. These updates will be announced on our website, http://www.electionstudies.org/, and via Twitter @electionstudies


We have also made some changes to our Data Center. You must now be a registered user and agree to our terms of use to download ANES data files.

Why are we making this change?
ANES is committed to protect the privacy and confidentiality of our survey respondents and to provide our data in ways that are most useful to the user community. To that end, we now require that individuals who want to download the data explicitly agree to our terms of use. We also ask that you provide some information that will help us better serve the user community and respond to questions from our funding agencies.

Registration is free.

Please be assured that your personal registration information is secure and will not be sold or made available to others.

If you would like to register now, please click here